To Write Love on Her Arms

The Twitter account that I have chosen to follow is for the non-profit organization To Write Love on Her Arms. This organization was created to help give people struggling with depression, self injury, addiction, and thoughts about suicide. The purpose of this organization is to help connect people to treatment centers so they can get the help that they need.

The goal of this twitter account is to raise awareness about this organization and keep people up to date on different events that are being held, similar to this. One unique thing about this account is that, almost daily, tweets are sent out with inspirational quotes such as this. This is my favorite part of TWLOHA’s Twitter account. When I am having a bad day I will sometimes scroll through their tweets to find these quotes because they are helpful and give me hope.

The reason that this organization interests me so much is because seven years ago I was diagnosed with a form of depression. I have been off medication for a long time now but it is something I still struggle with from time to time. I love the organization TWLOHA because I can relate to the target audience. I am glad that the organization is utilizing social media such as Twitter to reach out to people because when I see their tweets on my live feed it is a reminder that I’m not alone in the world and that I have people who care about me.

I would say that this account is being updated by the PR or communications department. It is very successful at linking people to their website in a great deal of their tweets. The website has a blog that contains posts about people’s personal experience with suicide and their Twitter account is very good at immediately updating their followers on new posts such as this. There are also other tweets that link to outside websites such as this.

The tone of these tweets has a wide variety. The quotes obviously have their own tone as inspirational and serious that are aimed at helping people who are going through tough times. Other tweets are just purely informational about events that are being held but I would say that most of them are serious.

I feel that this Twitter account is highly functional and useful for anyone looking to learn more about the organization so as of now I can’t think of any changes that should be made.

Leave a Reply

